The Australian Capital Territory Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association (ACTHPA) is an incorporated body in the ACT. It is both a State Association affiliated with the Sports Aviation Federation of Australia (SAFA, formerly HGFA), and the primary club for free flying in the Canberra region. Here are the ACTHPA Objects and Rules as of 4 October 2020.

Contact Us

To contact the ACTHPA committee, email or call our president, Rene Sedlmaier, on 0408 621 100.

ACT SAFA Regional Development Levy

The ACTHPA is affiliated with SAFA as the regional association for the ACT and surrounding area. Members of SAFA who live in the postcodes described in the SAFA Policy on Regional Boundaries pay a Regional Development Levy (RDL) as part of their annual SAFA membership fee. The RDL is disbursed to the ACTHPA and is used to progress the initiatives outlined in ACTHPA annual plans. This includes promoting safety, improving flying site infrastructure including weather stations, supporting regional flying events, and ACTHPA administration.

Members of the ACTHPA with ideas to improve safety, infrastructure, events or administration are encouraged to reach out to the ACTHPA committee with suggestions. Monthly meetings are well attended and are a great place to discuss ideas with other members. The ACTHPA committee may ask that proposals be outlined in writing for further consideration.

Committee Members

President Rene Sedlmaier0408 621 100
Vice PresidentAlex Boiko
TreasurerPhil Lyng
SecretaryNick Lemon
Site Development OfficerPeter Evans
Site Development OfficerRowan Beggs-French
Novice Representative“Tony Pony”
General MemberMark Wallace
General MemberAlex Chapman
Public OfficerPeter Lamont0407 771 075

ACTHPA Safety Committee:

Chief Flight Instructor: Rafael Esquillaro

Flight Instructor: Mike Brady

AIRS Managers: James Astley, Peter Evans, Peter Lamont

Senior Safety Officers:

  • PG:
    • Mike Brady,
    • Alistair Dickie,
    • Phil Robinson
  • HG: Phil Robinson

Safety Officers:

  • PG:
    • Jim Astley,
    • Alex Chapman,
    • Kari Ellis,
    • Wesley Kilham,
    • Peter Kupsovsky
    • Cameron Lawrence,
    • Bruce March,
  • PPG: Peter Evans
  • HG:
    • Stuart McElroy,
    • Bruce March,
    • Peter Evans,
    • Peter Kupsovsky

Tandem Pilots

Pilots who currently have ACTHPA approval to conduct tandem flights from ACTHPA sites include:

ParaglidingHang gliding
Alistair DickieAndrew Luton
Kari EllisPhil Robinson
Rafael EsquillaroBrad Porter
Andrew Gough
Chris Neal
Mike Brady
Jim Astley
Phil Robinson
Stuart McElroy
Rene Sedlmaier

Life Members

Life members shall be any person who, having rendered significant service to the Association for a continuous period of not less than three (3) years and having been recommended for life membership by an ordinary resolution of the Committee, has been accepted as a life member by an ordinary resolution of the next Annual General Meeting immediately following the Committee meeting at which the resolution recommending such honour is passed. A life member shall be entitled to receive notices of and to attend and address meetings of the Association. A life member shall not vote on matters requiring resolution unless they meet the membership requirements of section 5.1 of the Constitution.

The following members have been honoured with Life Membership of the ACTHPA.

NameYear of admission
Barry Oliver August 2012
Steve FoggettOctober 2016
Phil RobinsonOctober 2016
Michael PorterOctober 2016
Michael ImholzOctober 2016
Alistair DickieOctober 2017
Matt SmithOctober 2017
Nick SiefkenOctober 2017
Wesley KilhamOctober 2020