A club meeting was held at 7:30pm on 3 September 2019 at the Canberra Labor Club, Weston.


Alistair Dickie, Michael Hately, Campbell Blackburn, Eileen Abood, Wes Kilham, Rene Sedlmaier, Ash Gosili, Alex Boiko, Doug Mathie, Johnathan Bishop, Phil Lyng, Phil Robinson, Jackson Bateman

Apologies: Allister Higgins

Rene reminded members that the AGM will occur on 1 October 2019 and that the discussion topic would be planning for the coming season

SAFA Update

Al Dickie reported on SAFA issues:

Board election happening soon. Al prepared to re-nominate as ACT rep.

ACTHPA needs to renew affiliation with SAFA and submit annual report

Membership renewal period concluded August 31. Up to 1000 pilots renew late. In the ACT approximately 20 pilots do not renew each year, however there are around 30 new pilots.

Pilots still flying but who have not renewed have no insurance cover. Likewise returning pilots who have not rejoined SAFA.

SAFA is reviewing its policies regarding insurance.


Eagle Award

Awarded to Phil Lyng for a flight from Lanyon to Uriarra.

Novice Award

Awarded to Alex Boiko for first flights from Honeysuckle.

FARK Award

Awarded to Michael Hately for being blown over the back of the hill at Lanyon.

For Sale

Various items listed for sale. Contact Rene, Doug and Al Dickie for details.

Other Matters

Rene recommended work done by Stephen York. He also indicated Stephen is considering the purchase of a porosity meter.